expecting

January 29, 2015

life goes on
+ life goes on
you can’t shut it off
and expect to survive
expect respect
for staying alive
if I knew then what I know now
I’d still know nothing
and you’d still be my friend anyhow
+ everything I broke would still be broken
+ every hurt I spoke would still be spoken
and it would still all happen in slow motion
+ so fast it would be out of my control
I am the fraud with the heart of gold
just a fraud with a heart of gold
I can’t shut it off
or go back
or keep from getting old
or expect God
to be anything of my expecting
just a fraud with to many opinions
to expect respect for having nothing
to say that matters
regardless of conditions
it is hard to say anything
that matters
even with try after try after try
I am still alive
I can’t shut it off
or shut it out
life goes on regardless
of what I think about it.

4 Responses to “expecting”

  1. Jimmy Says:

    What you say and think matters to me – as always thank you for sharing them.

  2. Ryan Says:

    I love this Shawn.

  3. Gail Brown Says:

    I like to hear what you say and think too. You are more important than you think and you do make a difference !
    Time does go by quickly, and we age but each person makes the world better if only for an important few.

  4. Lindsey Says:

    You made a rosebud out of words!
    It is very thorny, though.
    But I suppose that’s to be expected.


Leave a Reply

