lately i’ve been really turned off by my writing

July 17, 2014

a lightbulb without electricity
just sits there
if i werent so well loved
i wouldnt be

and yet i still think that i prefer the dark.
where’s the switch
i want to burn
bright, useful.
i flicker at best
regardless of how steady and strong
the flow that reaches me
dim damn done.

4 Responses to “lately i’ve been really turned off by my writing”

  1. Jim Says:

    This is electrifying.

  2. Gail Brown Says:

    Don’t burn out; may God grant you the sleep you need.

  3. Bareknuckle Says:

    I’m glad that you are writing.

    “When I write, I feel like an armless, legless man with a crayon in his mouth.”
    ― Kurt Vonnegut

    I’m also glad that you have your arms and legs……and a box full of crayons.

  4. Lindsey Says:

    How many pills does it take to change a lightbulb?


Leave a Reply

