you (but accidentally me)

April 30, 2014

you listen to me
as i talk about me
the fictional me
the me that i miss
because its missing
the me that i wish to be
with my endless failed attempt
to do what i meant

and you’ll listen to me
as i talk about me
so frustrated with my own inaccuracy
manic need and contempt for my self-expression
with no reasonable end to this attempt at articulation
and a frantic desire for the death of my own opinion
as i dig myself down down down
well past the end of the day
but if i stop you might get up and go away

you listen to me
and it is an act of absolute love
selfless and patient and above all that
it must be exhausting
your eyes are drooping and you need sleep
but i keep going
its so annoying im driving my self crazy
im not only stupid and lazy
but apparently i cant help this thing
that i always do
all of this
just cause i sat down to listen to you

5 Responses to “you (but accidentally me)”

  1. Jimmy Says:

    Wel this is about ME not just YOU.

  2. Bryan Barnacle Says:

    Shawn….this post is so good.I appreciate “the me that I wish to be” because we all strive for that. This is one of the most honest pieces I’ve read in a while. Great title……..

  3. Ryan Roling Says:

    Shawn,

    Maybe this will make you feel better:

    UP YOURS!

  4. Gail Brown Says:

    Thanks for listening to me and adding yourself.

  5. Lindsey Says:

    Hahaha what Ryan said! Also: I do love you.


Leave a Reply

