verity

February 26, 2014

thank you Everyone for your
kind, generous, loving, supportive words
and for taking the time to read my words
(which are not typically an uplifting read)
it really does help.
so i wanted to write something (real quick)
that is not depressing, as a reality check
and for gratefulness
and cause my Momma raised me up right
and i’m not supposed to be saying so much
without having something good to say…

my children came to visit at work
and after they left one of my favorite people
(a woman of full wisdom and years)
said to me:
That is one handsome boy you have.
I responded:
Yes, I know that I’m biased, but sometimes I look at my children and I am stunned by how beautiful they are.
and she says:
Well, that’s nothing to be surprised about when you look at their Momma.

and that is what is true.

5 Responses to “verity”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    She is indeed a wise lady! But to be fair, they look a bit like you too.

  2. Ryan Roling Says:

    I love it when old people haven’t gone senile.

  3. brbarnacle Says:

    Good stuff, Shawn. I’ve always said the Browns are good looking. My birthday buddy is a charmer as well…

  4. Rachel Says:

    This is the sweetest.

  5. Gail Brown Says:

    So who’s surprised when you look at momma and don’t forget grandpa and you too.. When you and also your dad were babies you both were gorgeous. I have the pictures to prove it.


Leave a Reply

