A Hymn for Winter

December 22, 2013

i offer a song in celebration of winter and the solstice:

Songs for the Solstice

i wrote (and posted) this ‘hymn‘ on a previous solstice.
and so i offer it with some apologies:
i have been working on a different little seasonal ditty
but facing my eminent achievement of repeated failure…
(once again not finishing and
not meeting what i thought to be a very reasonable goal)
i will share this again.
(and now you can hear it right on the page! very exciting.)
i just really wanted to send out a little musical Christmas card.

i also apologize for my Northern Hemisphere bias
recognizing that winter depends on your hemispherical perspective
and your direction from the prime meridian
(thats probably not a sincere apology, but its so many fun words!)

anyway, the other song is called Season Forgiving
i am not ok with not finishing it,
but the song is about forgiveness, after all,
so i thought i better offer some to myself
and watch the sun set on the shortest day of the year.
(i guess it could, conversely, be referred to as the longest night
sort of a half full with a convex meniscus sort of thing?)
thus ends the winter solstice (in the Northern Hemisphere).
we have all of these great Christmas songs
but really the solstice was celebrated as a holiday of sorts
for possibly a few thousand years before Christmas came along
and usurped its pagan rights
“I have my rites!” cried the pagan
so maybe it should get a song too.

3 Responses to “A Hymn for Winter”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    I love this one. My solstice wish for you (and for me) is self-granted permission to inhale and enjoy the holiday, without crying over spilt time.

  2. Gail Brown Says:

    Thank you, Shawn, I loved hearing it again. It is beautiful tho I wish it would go on a little longer . Make me an album or CD of your own stuff, I would like that. Mom


Leave a Reply

