Easy Bee and the Hippo of Sadness

November 15, 2013

I sit at the computer typing…
she comes quietly, climbs up the chair
and positions herself on my shoulders.
Then just sits there for a little while
with her hands resting on the top my head.
I pretend I don’t notice her
but really I’m waiting to see what will happen next…
when she says:

its o.k. Dad…
you don’t have any hair.
its o.k. (patting me)
then it wont get in your eyes.
(pause)
Well, you do have little tiny hairs,
on your little tiny brain.

she says the last part in a kind way
like she is talking to a distraught child
a rise to her voice and drawing out the leeettle tiny.

Its o.k.
we were learning about shapes;
talking about the shape of the chips we were eating.
she was refusing to play by the rules,
she didn’t want to say “triangle” as we desired
so for the sake of defiance she kept saying “pizza shape“.
then she said:
if a toot were a shape it would be amorphous.

It’s o.k.
once when I needed to use the bathroom
during a princess ball/dance party
she declared me: the poopy-prince.

Its o.k.
she has also dubbed me: The Hippo of Sadness
for those who don’t know me I am a smallish man,
not proud or pretty, but fit.
so, I can only take this as commentary on my (umm) personality
or lack there of…
In the same conversation she named herself nobly:
The Lion of God.

not sure where to go from there.
I think I will keep calling her EZB.

and looking forward to whatever happens next (now that she’s 4).

6 Responses to “Easy Bee and the Hippo of Sadness”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Oh my! So many of her little goodies packed into this one little post. She is such a fun person, I love her!!

  2. Lindsey Says:

    I just read this and laughed a lot. Then I read it to my mom and she laughed a lot. Then she asked how old your Bee is, and once I figured out the answer, it kind of freaked me out a little.

    • Shawn Says:

      added her age to the end -it does seem important somehow.
      what freaks you out about it? – that she is so young or that she is getting older so fast?

      • Lindsey Says:

        Oh, the latter, definitely. When I think about how much she (they all) grew in the span of a few months, and how much she must have grown since, and how much she will grow before I see her again… yikes!

  3. Ryan Roling Says:

    Wonderfully funny and astute. I’m speaking of her, not you…


Leave a Reply

