the greatest of these

November 7, 2013

Sleep,
you little thief I cannot catch you
as you rob me of my ambition, intentions and plans.

Duty,
you hard master I cannot escape you
I must not; though your heel grinds me into the ground.

Time,
you angry god I cannot overcome you
your weight crushes, your lack flits and I despair.

Faith,
you fickle lover I cannot hold you
I love you and let you go but you don’t return.

Hope,
you lethal physician I cannot quit you
you are slowly killing me but without you I can’t breathe.

Love,
you warm friend I can only thank you
never do I deserve you and never do I lack.

.

10 Responses to “the greatest of these”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    I love the repetition here… and the symmetry.

  2. Jimmy Says:

    Now that was incredibly powerful.

  3. Ryan Roling Says:

    Excellent. One of my favorite posts ever.

  4. James Says:

    Absolutely beautiful Shawn!

  5. Gail Brown Says:

    I like this one. May be one of your best. Mom

  6. Rachel Says:

    Apparently everyone is on board here, I thought this was my favorite of your writings in this vein. One of your best for sure. Really captures what it is like to be you . . . Things I have heard you share and say . . . But is such a succinct and powerful manner. Well done!


Leave a Reply

