savor the flavor: the 12¢ solo supper

June 5, 2013

how often do i eat dinner at midnight?
i dont mean the infamous midnight snack
i mean dinner
alone
soggy noodles in powder flavored water
the exotic taste of sweaty arm…

though i miss my family
they slumber sweetly
transmitting peace to me through the walls
and i savor the flavor of silence
made more delicious by its paucity

i almost hit a rabbit on the way home from work
as i swerved i thought
“silly rabbit, sticks to my treads”
and imagined some demented breakfast cereal
then i laughed and was glad i didnt kill the rabbit.
though it could have added nutrients and been tasty:

Treads Cereal “Now with less fur!”
part of this unbalanced breakfast
Ingredients:
Aspartame, Androgenic Alopecia, Cyanide, Dicalcium Phosphate, Various Roadkill and Other Unnatural and Artificial Flavor, Acne, Thiamin non compos mentis Mononitrate, Acid, Niacinamide, Splinters, Nitrous Oxide, B-6 (Battleship Sunk), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Zuul and Vinz Clortho, Riboflavin, Wheat Shaft, Butylated Hydroxyanisole, Napalm, Mixed Pterodactyls and PVC Added to Preserve Freshness.
May contain traces of animal nuts.
5 Responses to “savor the flavor: the 12¢ solo supper”

  1. Hope Says:

    Love it! Read it to my husband, we cracked up for two reasons. One because your way with words is a riot, two, can you believe I was actually craving Ramen, and we had that for supper? My poor husband after a hard day at work asked what was for supper, and I told him, his face fell. I suppose I have to cook a nice meal tomorrow to make up for the “exotic taste of sweaty arm” that I served tonight that I just chased with two Rolaids. Thanks for the great laugh!

    • Shawn Says:

      This is one of the funnest replies I have ever received!
      Thanks for that – and as for ramen (I actually really like it); I will probably eat it tonight myself as a result of this exchange!

  2. Ryan Roling Says:

    “traces of animal nuts” – classic

  3. Danielle Says:

    Just read this one again. You’re so gross! Well, I guess big brothers are supposed to be… love you. Thanks for bringing a smile.


Leave a Reply

