Omphaloskepsis

April 28, 2013

(Theodor Geisel meditates on his belly button)

if I always worked the way I work
in the moments I am working
so much would be finished
life would be amazing

& if I always hurt the way I hurt
in the moments I am hurting
it would be impossible
a life not worth living

but I hurt while I’m working and
work through the hurting
& hurt where I live and work for a living
& life is as impossible as it is amazing
for the moment I’m finished with this navel-gazing.

2 Responses to “Omphaloskepsis”

  1. Ryan Roling Says:

    Navel-gazing = My new favorite Shawnerism

    Crafty web of words you lyrical spider.

  2. Lindsey Says:

    This is a perfect little button of a post.


Leave a Reply

