After all, turning 5 is a pretty big deal.

February 4, 2012

my Holotype HannaH – you defy classification.

Hannah – sings the songs that make her brave.
go child, live the tale in the world you’ve made
fly off to find your neverland
return for a space to hold my hand
then off again to a new pretend
i pray that by grace
i may be your safe place
when, it is time for all the games to end.
8 Responses to “After all, turning 5 is a pretty big deal.”

  1. brbarnacle Says:

    Great title and intro line. It drew me in….and this one in particular needs to be read aloud. I appreciate how you ended the piece as well. I couldn’t think of a better way to sum up five years old. I also didn’t realize until now (probably because of my lack of attention to detail) that the name Hannah is a palindrome…..well done Shawn.

    • Shawn Says:

      She was climbing this loose rope section at a playground,
      pretty high off the ground – she was having trouble and getting nervous. singing to herself quietly (as she always does), i caught a few of the words to her song, she was singing herself to courage.

  2. Ryan Roling Says:

    Shawn,

    I can’t read a poem or listen to a song about little girls growing up w/o becoming sad. Sometimes I ask Sienna and Autumn if they will stay little forever. Usually they tell me they can’t. Whenever I leave for school, I give hugs and kisses. Autumn always says, “Miss you forever.” Then I tell her, “I’ll miss you forever. Love you forever.” Then she says, “Love you forever too.” Usually I don’t want the hug to end.

  3. Lindsey Says:

    Beautiful words, beautiful child. Happy fifth anniversary of parenthood!

  4. Lindsey Says:

    I’m working on that! Click on my name to see progress of a sort.


Leave a Reply

