Nairobi for a moment

January 3, 2012

In Nairobi
Only for a moment
Everywhere holds you differently but nowhere has a hold on me like this
Between terminal and vehicle
Lugging luggage
tears stream
No one sees but I know
The smell/scent
Is drawing out my heart

How often do I hear people talk like this about Africa
Often knowing that they had only been here a week or so
Always makes me feel skeptical, almost angry;
…as if they know.
I don’t know about Africa either.
I have seen only the smallest percentage
Doesn’t change the fact that the small bit that I know
Holds me at a distance until I return
And then returns my attentions with a death grip.

4 Responses to “Nairobi for a moment”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    The two things I like best about your writing:
    1. Painfully honest.
    2. Deceptively simple.
    (Upon closer inspection, not so simple.)

  2. Ryan Roling Says:

    Shawn,

    I have a similar feeling of “ownership” w/ Japan. Like I know it better than others. Maybe in some small way it’s true. Our unique experiences are unique. Known only to us, and that is why we feel as though others couldn’t quite understand.

  3. brbarnacle Says:

    This was lovely. Direct. Personal. You have a way to get at something without needing to over explain it. The memory of places grips folks differently. I look forward to talking about this one……

  4. Shawn Says:

    Thanks ya’ll!
    It was so nice to be greeted this morning with the sweet voices of my friends.

    Thanks for reading my words!


Leave a Reply

