a little deception helps fight cavities

May 29, 2011

when i was a kid:
my parents were sharing a package of rollos candies
– i was pretty young
and of course i wanted some…
they told me that i couldn’t have any cause they were “adult candy”
at the time i probably just nodded my head
and accepted this (with a frown)
and then came to the conclusion that rollos had alcohol in them
because i trusted my parents.

early in our marriage my wife and i were shopping together
we came to the check out line
and i saw the rollos there with all the other candy
right out in the open! where kids could reach them!!!
i was astounded by this
and exclaimed about it with shock to my wife…
she had no idea what i was talking about.
it was only then that i realized
what my parents had done.

i bought me some rollos that day, i can tell you

as a parent now myself, i take a very important lesson from this
(sometimes its ok not to share)
and that a little deception helps fight cavities.
the end

One Response to “a little deception helps fight cavities”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Wow, I don’t blame you. “Adult candy” definitely sounds like something I would not want to hear details about from my parents. “So, how ’bout them anything-elses?”


Leave a Reply

