Fresh Bread

January 21, 2011

I wanted to start with a song (Fresh Bread).
And this song in particular (though it has no singing)
because it has an easy story to tell…

I set out to make a musical Christmas card for all my favorite folks (by Christmas card I mean a burnt cd w/ a bit o art // by favorite folks I mean – well, if you got one then you know – c’mon, just kidding).  Actually, I never did finish to my satisfaction, so I only gave out a few to those I’m prone to give out to.

It was supposed to be nice and simple, just 2 songs – an original called Joseph’s Song and an arrangement of Joy to the World.  Well Joy to the World got really out of hand – and was taking forever.  The old computer we had at the time could not even handle the musical information I was trying to give it.  It was clicking and complaining and making sounds that I did not tell it to make while not playing the sounds that I had put into it.
This got a bit frustrating… So I went past the song to where I hadn’t recorded any tracks yet and started something new.

It was ridiculous that anything should take as long as I was taking – now I gave myself a half hour.
Start with nothing, no ideas, nothing written, no tracks played and what can I have after a half hour…
i had been recording a mt dulcimer part (for JttW) so that was the instrument i used as the lead, the banjo was sitting there so that was next. my guitar was there too but was not in tune to the other two and i didnt have time for tuning so i just played the bass string and hit it a few times.  Then a moment to mix and here it is… tasty Fresh Bread in a half  hour.

During all this my wife was baking bread and the house smelled wonderful (there are very few circumstances better than her bread).  Hence the name.  When it was done I really enjoyed it – the song as well.  It is one of my favorite things (of mine) to listen to.  It doesn’t carry the weight of what could be done different or what isn’t right – etc (plus there’s no vocals).   it is what it is – it was like jamming with myself – (i only like butter on the bread).  I enjoy it enough that in my mind (the only place where the record exists) –  it goes on my Hope & Home record/song cycle.

So I wanted to share some bread.         Please enjoy.

3 Responses to “Fresh Bread”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    I love this music!

  2. Ryan Roling Says:

    Shawn,

    How about assigning yourself to make a song w/in 30 minutes once per week? Then you could release your 30-minute album. We would all enjoy it very much.

    Ryan

  3. Gail Brown Says:

    This is the first I heard it. Joyful, happy, moving music that I can dance or work to. Love you Mom


Leave a Reply

